PRIVACY, SOLAR HEATING & LOSS OF AMENITY

A 70 house application should seek to take advantage of solar heating, while preserving the privacy of residents

HOME    |   CASE STUDIES    LAW   |    POLITICS    SCANDAL  |    SITE INDEX   |    WHISTLEBLOWING

 

 

 

LACKING PRIVACY - Any houses built here will be overlooked by anyone using Herstmonceux Museum. The reverse is also true. How will planners overcome the loss of amenity for Herstmonceux Museum and ensure privacy for houses in this field. Will it mean windows facing away from the Museum? Would that not mean that the usual way of solar heating a house would be prevented. Why? Because the view shown here is looking north, hence, houses should be facing this way (towards the Museum) to capture incoming sunshine. This is the view from the rear (balcony) of the Museum towards the village.

 


The general rule is that houses should be built facing south. If that is the case here, they will all be overlooked by Herstmonceux Museum - and occupiers of the Museum and visitors will be overlooking the proposed 70 houses.

 

The field next door to the west, has no such problems and is far more suitable for accommodating new houses, with access to the A271 via an entrance that is much safer on a compare and contrast basis. Planners should be looking for the most suitable sites, not grasping any proposal that comes along no matter what obstacles would normally prevent development.

 

 

 

View from the balcony facing into Lime Park, looking sideways into the field at Lime Cross. Once again, all of the houses that might be built on the south-west end of the field will be overlooked from a significantly higher vantage point.

 

 

Hammering home a borehole at Lime Cross, Herstmonceux

 

Lime Cross, Herstmonceux March 2015 - Surveyors drive home a borehole. The water table was confirmed here on site as being 4 meters from the surface, meaning that this area of land also shares the water with Herstmonceux Museum. Herstmonceux Museum does not have mains water supplies, but relies on an ancient well adjacent to the field the subject of this planning application. It seems from this that any houses built here are bound to cause long term contamination to the water table. Imagine a leak from the soil system into the water table. How would that affect those locally that depend on water from wells?

 

 

INCOME FROM TOURISM

 

Tourism is a long term earner for Herstmonceux. It is well known that tourists plan holidays according to a theme. The theme in London, or London's top ten include: 

 

1.  British Museum

2.  National Gallery

3.  Natural History Museum

4.  Tate Modern

5.  London Eye

6.  Science Museum

7.  Victoria and Albert Museum

8.  Tower of London

9.  Royal Museum Greenwich

10. Madame Tussauds

 

Herstmonceux's top ten theme tour of the UK might include: 

 

1.  Science Museum, London

2.  Battersea Power Station, London

3.  Amberley Museum

4.  Rudyard Kipling's Batemans

5.  Jubilee Walk & (proposed) Edison Trail

6.  Herstmonceux Museum, Lime Park (from the Cuckoo Trail)

7.  Windmill Hill

8.  The Truggery

9.  Herstmonceux Observatory

10. RAF Wartling

 

 

 

 

 

SUSSEX INDEX A - Z

 

ARUNDEL CASTLE

BATTLE

BATTLE ABBEY

BATTLE OF HASTINGS

BEACHY HEAD

BEXHILL

BODIAM CASTLE

BRIGHTON

CHICHESTER

CHIDDINGLY - HORSE SHOW and GYMKHANA

CROWBOROUGH

CUCKMERE VALLEY - EXCEAT

DISTRICT AND BOROUGH COUNCILS

EAST SUSSEX
EASTBOURNE

FIRLE

FIRLE BONFIRE SOCIETY

GLYNDE

GUY FAWKES

HAILSHAM

HASTINGS

HEATHFIELD

HERSTMONCEUX - MUSEUM - COSTS SCANDAL - PARISH COUNCIL - ACTION GROUP

LEWES

LEWES DISTRICT COUNCIL

NEWHAVEN

PEVENSEY CASTLE

RYE

SEAFORD

SEVEN SISTERS

SUSSEX

SUSSEX THINGS TO DO GUIDE

THE BATTLE OF HASTINGS

TRUGS

TWISSELLS MILL, OLD HEATHFIELD

UCKFIELD

WEALD

 

 

HERSTMONCEUX & PARISH COUNCIL CONTACTS

 

COUNCIL OFFICERS HAVING CONDUCT OF PLANNING MATTERS RELATING TO HERSTMONCEUX MUSEUM

 

Charlie Lant

Derek Holness

Ashley Brown

Ian Kay

Victoria (Vic) Scarpa

Christine Nuttal

David Phillips

David Whibley

Doug (J D) Moss

Christine Arnold

Trevor Scott

Daniel Goodwin

Kelvin Williams

 

COUNCIL MEMBERS SITTING ON - AREA PLANS SOUTH

 

Andrew Long - (no email address)

David White - cllr.david.white@wealden.gov.uk

Diane Dear - cllr.dianne.dear@wealden.gov.uk

Charles Peck - cllr.charles.peck@wealden.gov.uk

Chris Hardy - cllr.chris.hardy@wealden.gov.uk

Chris Triandafyllou - cllr.chriss.triandafyllou@wealden.gov.uk

Daniel Shing - daniel.shing@wealden.gov.uk

Dick Angel - cllr.dick.angel@wealden.gov.uk

Barby Dashwood-Morris - cllr.barby.dashwood-morris@wealden.gov.uk

Barry Marlowe - cllr.barry.marlowe@wealden.gov.uk

Bill Bentley - cllr.bill.bentley@eastsussex.gov.uk

Brian Jarman (deceased)

Brian West -  (retired)

John Blake -  cllr.john.blake@wealden.gov.uk

Lin Clark - cllr.lin.clark@wealden.gov.uk

Nigel Coltman - cllr.nigel.coltman@wealden.gov.uk

Nigel McKeeman - cllr.nigel.mckeeman@wealden.gov.uk

Raymond Cade - cllr.raymond.cade@wealden.gov.uk

Robert Standley

Ron Cussons - cllr.ron.cussons@wealden.gov.uk

Stephen Harms - cllr.steve.harms@wealden.gov.uk

Stephen Shing - cllr.stephen.shing@wealden.gov.uk

Susan Stedman - cllr.susan.stedman@wealden.gov.uk

 

LOCAL NEWSPAPERS CONTACTED

 

Sussex Express - sussex.express@jpress.co.uk
                          amie.morrell@jpress.co.uk

 

Eastbourne Herald - eastbourne.herald@jpress.co.uk

 

The Argus - lucy.pearce@theargus.co.uk

                  emily.walker@theargus.co.uk

 

LINKS & REFERENCE

 

http://www.eastbourneherald.co.uk/news/local/more-water-works-set-for-rural-village-1-5310560

http://www.sussexmillsgroup.org.uk/

http://www.nationaltrail.co.uk/

https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-for-culture-media-sport

http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright 2015 HST &  Max Energy Limited (a not for profit organisation)

 

 UTOPIA